Vermont Congressional Delegation Announces Nine Vermont Communities Will Share $3.9 Million In Stimulus Funds For New Public Transit Vehicles

WASHINGTON – Vermont’s Congressional Delegation -- Senator Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Senator Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) and Representative Peter Welch (D-Vt.) – Wednesday announced that nine Vermont public transit providers will share $3.9 million in economic recovery funds for new vehicles.  The list was formally approved Wednesday by the U.S. Federal Transit Administration.

The Vermont Agency of Transportation will use the $3.9 million to purchase 33 buses and vans for nine local transit providers around the state:

  -  Addison County Transit Resources (Middlebury)
  -  Advance Transit (Wilder)
  -  Chittenden County Transportation Authority (Burlington)
  -  Connecticut River Transit (Rockingham)
  -  Deerfield Valley Transit Association (West Dover)
  -  Green Mountain Community Network (Bennington)
  -  Marble Valley Regional Transit District (Rutland)
  -  Rural Community Transportation (St. Johnsbury)
  -  Stagecoach Transportation (Randolph)

The Delegation earlier announced Vermont’s overall allocation of $5.7 million in public transit funding under the stimulus package, which is formally called the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.  In addition to the list released Wednesday of local transit providers that will receive grants totaling $3.9 million of the state’s allocation, Chittenden County Transportation Authority is receiving a separate allocation of $1.7 million that will be used for heavy-duty, low-emission buses, and for bus rehabilitation, wooden bus shelters constructed by Vermont companies, and vehicles for seniors and individuals with disabilities.   

# # # # #

Press Contact

David Carle: 202-224-3693