Vermont Congressional Delegation Announces Disaster Declaration In Addison, Caledonia, Essex, Lamoille, Orange, Washington And Windsor Counties From July And August Storms

MONTPELIER, Vt. (Friday, Sept. 12) – U.S. Sens. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) and Congressman Peter Welch (D-Vt.) announced Friday that President Bush has declared seven counties federal disaster areas following severe storms and flooding that ravaged the state between July 21 and August 12, 2008.


The declaration, which the Vermont Congressional Delegation and Governor Jim Douglas (R-Vt.) requested, will enable state and local governments, as well as private non-profit organizations, to apply for reimbursement of funds used to complete disaster clean up, repair and mitigation. 


Addison, Caledonia, Essex, Lamoille, Orange, Washington and Windsor Counties were included in the declaration.


For more information:

August 27, 2008 – Delegation letter requesting the designation

September 12, 2008 – FEMA fact sheet


# # # # # 

Press Contact

David Carle: 202-224-3693