Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, Senate Judiciary Committee Democrats Urge Removal Of Controversial Detainee Provisions From National Defense Authorization Act

WASHINGTON (Monday, Oct. 24, 2011) – Democratic Senators on the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence and the Senate Judiciary Committee last Friday sent a letter to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.), expressing opposition to the controversial detainee provisions included in the National Defense Authorization Act and requesting that the provisions be removed.

Intelligence Committee Chair Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) are the lead signatories to the letter.  The letter is also signed by Senators Mark Udall (D-Co.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), John Rockefeller (D-W.V.), Christopher Coons (D-Del.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), Bill Nelson (D-Neb.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Kent Conrad (D-N.D.), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I),

An electronic copy of the letter is available online.

Press Contact

David Carle: 202-224-3693