Leahy: SJC Will Consider Bill To Reauthorize Lifesaving Bulletproof Vest Grant Program Next Week

More Than One Million Vests Provided Through The Program

WASHINGTON (Thursday, July 25, 2013) – The Senate Judiciary Committee will begin consideration next week of legislation to reauthorize the lifesaving Bulletproof Vest Partnership Grant Program, a federal grant program whose charter expired last year.

The popular matching grant program has helped provide more than one million lifesaving vests to state and local law enforcement officers throughout the country.  Despite the program’s impact and broad bipartisan support, last year the Senate failed to extend the program. Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), who coauthored the original law establishing the matching grant program and the reauthorization legislation that was overwhelmingly approved by the Judiciary Committee in the 112th Congress, and Sen. Chris Coons (D-Del.), a cochairman of the Senate Law Enforcement Caucus, teamed up this year to advance legislation to renew the program.

“Every additional officer who is able to put on a vest today as a result of this program is one more officer who has a far better chance of surviving a violent attack,” Leahy said.  “I was disappointed the Senate failed to reauthorize this program last year, but I am hopeful the mounting examples of this program’s life-saving impact will help convince Senators to support its reauthorization.”

“The Bulletproof Vest Partnership helps police officers get the body armor they need to survive dangerous situations,” Coons said. “It has saved the lives of thousands of officers, including two in Delaware just a few months ago, and helped make our communities safer.  We need to save this program so that this program can keep saving lives.”

Cosponsors of the legislation include Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) and Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.).  A copy of the bill can be viewed here.

# # # # #


          An Executive Business Meeting has been scheduled by the Committee on the Judiciary for Thursday, August 1, 2013 at 9:30 a.m., in Room 226 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building.

          By order of the Chairman.



Senate Committee on the Judiciary
Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room 226
August 1, 2013 at 9:30 a.m.


I. Nominations

Patricia Ann Millett, to be United States Circuit Judge for the District of Columbia Circuit

Gregory Howard Woods, to be United States District Judge for the Southern District of New York

Elizabeth A. Wolford, to be United States District Judge for the Western District of New York

Debra M. Brown, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Mississippi


II. Bills

S. 987, Free Flow of Information Act of 2013 (Schumer, Graham, Blumenthal, Klobuchar)

S.933, Bulletproof Vest Partnership Grant Program Reauthorization Act of 2013 (Leahy, Coons, Feinstein, Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Blumenthal)

Press Contact

Press Contact
David Carle: 202-224-3693