Leahy: Commission On Civil Rights Approves Vermont State Charter

WASHINGTON (Friday, March 7, 2008) – More than a year after a majority of its members were forced to step down, the charter for Vermont’s state advisory committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has been approved, Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) said Friday.

In January, Leahy sent a letter to the Chairman of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, seeking answers why the charters for Vermont and 37 other states had not yet been approved, and urging the Commission to swiftly renew the expired state charters.  State advisory committees play an important role in fulfilling the Commission’s fact-finding and reporting mission.  Without approved charters, the advisory committees cannot meet, investigate and report to the Commission on Civil Rights. 

There are 51 state advisory committees, one in each state and in the District of Columbia.  The volunteer members of the advisory committees help the Commission by investigating state and local civil rights issues.  The Commission voted Friday to restore the Vermont charter.  Members of the Vermont state advisory committee approved Friday are:

  • Curtiss G. Reed, Jr. (Chair)
  • Francie T. Bazluke
  • John H. Bloomer
  • Luther M. Brown
  • Ellen Mercer Fallon
  • Ann H. Hagman
  • Leslie Ann Holman
  • Gary A. Kowalski
  • Terrance D. Martin
  • Marion C. Milne
  • Cheryl W. Mitchell
  • Tara O'Brien
  • Eric D. Sakai
  • Stephanie L. Sidortsova
  • Diane B. Snelling
  • Tracey H. Tsugawa
  • Stewart R. Wood

 # # # # #

Press Contact

David Carle: 202-224-3693

Related Files