WASHINGTON (THURSDAY, Jan. 12, 2017) – U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Vice Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced the subcommittee ranking members for the 115th Congress.

Leahy said: “The Appropriations Committee has a challenging year ahead.  We must finish the work of the 114th Congress and pass the remaining fiscal year 2017 bills, while simultaneously preparing to address the needs of the next.  Appropriations bills are where policy debates meet fiscal realities.  Appropriations bills are where we set annual priorities.  I am delighted that we will have this skilled and experienced team to meet this challenge and work together, and across the aisle, as we work to produce fiscally responsible appropriations bills that meet the needs of Americans through next year’s appropriations bills.”

The subcommittee ranking members are as follows:


Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies

Jeff Merkley, Oregon

Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies

Jeanne Shaheen, New Hampshire

Department of Defense

Richard J. Durbin, Illinois

Energy and Water Development

Dianne Feinstein, California

Financial Services and General Government

Christopher A. Coons, Delaware

Department of Homeland Security

Jon Tester, Montana

Department of the Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies

Tom Udall, New Mexico

Departments of Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education, and Related Agencies

Patty Murray, Washington

Legislative Branch

Chris Murphy, Connecticut

Military Construction and Veterans Affairs, and Related Agencies

Brian Schatz, Hawaii

State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs

Patrick Leahy, Vermont

Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies

Jack Reed, Rhode Island

# # # # #

Press Contact

Press Contact
David Carle: 202-224-3693