Leading Democratic Senators Praise FCC’s Adoption Of Net Neutrality Rules

WASHINGTON (Thursday, February 26, 2015) – Democratic Senators Patrick Leahy (Vt.), Ron Wyden (Ore.), Chuck Schumer (N.Y.), Maria Cantwell (Wash.), Sheldon Whitehouse (R.I.), Tom Udall (N.M.), Al Franken (Minn.), Richard Blumenthal (Conn.), Elizabeth Warren (Mass.), Ed Markey (Mass.), and Cory Booker (N.J.) issued a joint comment Thursday following a vote by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) on updated open Internet rules.  The new rules, which apply to all domestic broadband providers, prevent broadband providers from blocking or throttling lawful online content and ban paid-prioritization agreements through which websites could be charged for priority access. The Democratic Senators who joined to release today’s comment have been outspoken in their support for a free and open Internet for all Americans.



“We join with millions of Americans in celebrating today’s victory for consumers, innovators and entrepreneurs. The Commission’s vote is a decisive step to ensure the Internet remains an open platform for consumers and a level playing field for all. Strong net neutrality protections will ensure the Internet remains a dynamic engine of economic growth, democracy and free speech for years to come. By setting forth clear, commonsense open Internet rules, Chairman Wheeler and the FCC have acted to restore certainty for Internet users, as well as every innovator with a dream and an Internet connection.” 



Press Contact

Press Contact
David Carle: 202-224-3693