Comment On Department Of Justice Appointees

The White House announced four nominations for Assistant Attorneys General at the Department of Justice:  David Kris for the National Security Division, Lanny A. Breuer for the Criminal Division, Christine A. Varney for the Antitrust Division, and Tony West for the Civil Division. 

“President Obama understands the importance of moving forward to fill top leadership posts at the Department of Justice.  We cannot delay in revitalizing the critical functions of the Department needed to protect the American people.  Unfortunately, Senate Republicans continue to delay action on the new leadership at the Justice Department.  Just yesterday, after more than two months of scrutiny and inquiries, Judiciary Committee Republicans used a procedural device to stall for another week consideration of the nomination of Eric H. Holder Jr. to be the Attorney General of the United States.  I hope that they will begin to heed the call of the American people to work together in the best interest of the country, and curtail their dilatory tactics.”

# # # # #

Press Contact

David Carle: 202-224-3693